You're not connected to the Internet.

Digitec Galaxus AG

Company Portrait

The online shops digitec.ch and galaxus.ch together form Digitec Galaxus AG.

digitec is Switzerland's online market leader in the fields of IT, consumer electronics and telecommunication. Galaxus is the largest Swiss online shop with a steadily growing range including categories such as “Home”, “DIY + Garden” and “Sports + Recreation”.

Mission

Galaxus and digitec provide access to a broad, extensive and well-maintained range of products. Consistently low and continually updated prices as well as fast and reliable online shops enable a unique and comfortable shopping experience – anywhere at any time. Customer focus is at the heart of everything we do. This means short delivery times, personal and competent customer service by phone, email and fax or at any of our nine retail stores as well as transparent and comprehensible communication.

Company Culture

  • Our team is strong and is defined by a communication culture that is respectful, cooperative and appreciative.
  • We attach great importance to tolerance.
  • Together, we achieve great things. We keep each other motivated on a daily basis and continuously challenge the status quo. Because standing still is not an option.
  • We are different. Unconventional, bold and innovative ideas are what we do best.
  • We take responsibility. Autonomous actions and lean structures are the pillars that keep us dynamic and agile.
  • Our Values are important for us

Galaxus and the Tortoise

Galaxus stands for our complete range and a whole new shopping experience – a department store universe that’s just a click away. So it’s no coincidence that the tortoise is our logo. In many ancient cultures, the animal is said to carry the whole world and even the universe on its back. It is also regarded as sturdy, reliable and clever. These are precisely the characteristics that describe Galaxus’ objective: To bring together a compact and competent universe of products in one place and to allow customers to enjoy a shopping experience that’s efficient and tailored to their needs.

Company History

The year is 2000. Three friends share a great passion for gaming, but they’re not willing to spend a small fortune on their gaming PCs, while the individual parts cost a fraction of the price abroad. So, they start building their own computers. This attracts attention – initially, from friends and family, but soon, orders start flooding in and production gets moving. Why not turn this into a business? No sooner said than done. In April 2001, they programme their own online shop, www.digitec.ch, and establish the general partnership Nägeli Trading & Co. On digitec, they offer PCs, the entire IT product range and later also consumer electronics.

At this time, Oliver Herren, Florian Teuteberg and Marcel Dobler aren’t even 25 years old. They’re driven by their joy of creating innovation, efficient processes and lean workflows. Their aim is to offer customers a wide range of products, good prices and professional service. The company grows rapidly and relocation, renovation and expansion work is present throughout its history. Once an underestimated company, digitec soon becomes the online market leader in electronics.

Having conquered the electronics field, the three friends come up with an extended business idea: In 2012, they launch Galaxus, Switzerland’s largest online warehouse with a broad product range including household items, toys and sports equipment. In 2014, the third online shop, programmed entirely in-house and combining both digitec and Galaxus, is released.

Today, the offices are located in Zurich’s Kreis 5 district. The logistics centre spans a total area of 46,500m2 and there are ten digitec stores throughout the German and French-speaking regions of Switzerland. In September 2015, the company is renamed Digitec Galaxus AG, including both portals in the company name. Digitec Galaxus AG currently has almost 1,000 employees.

Awards

Digitec Galaxus has earned a number of awards for its entrepreneurial achievements:

  • GfM Marketing Award 2017
    • Annual prize awarded by the Swiss Foundation for Marketing and Business Management
  • Swiss E-Commerce Award 2017
    • Galaxus: Swiss E-Commerce Champion 2017
    • Galaxus: Winner category B2C – Home & Living
    • Galaxus: Winner category Curation, Social and Content Commerce
  • Best of Swiss Web Award 2015
    • digitec: Honorary Prize – Swiss Web Award
  • Prix Swiss Venture Club 2011
    • SVC Entrepreunership Award in the industrial area of Zurich
  • Swiss Economic Award 2008
    • Swiss Economic Award

Du bist nicht mit dem Internet verbunden.

Digitec Galaxus AG

Firmenportrait

Die beiden Onlineshops digitec.ch und galaxus.ch bilden zusammen die Digitec Galaxus AG.

Der Schweizer Online-Marktführer digitec ist Spezialist in Sachen IT, Unterhaltungselektronik und Telekommunikation. Galaxus als grösstes Online-Warenhaus der Schweiz führt ein stetig wachsendes Sortiment mit Sparten wie «Haushalt», «Do it + Garten» oder «Sport».

Die Mission

Galaxus und digitec bieten Zugang zu ausserordentlich breiten, detailliert geführten und kontinuierlich gepflegten Sortimenten. Die durchwegs tiefen, ständig aktuell gehaltenen Preise sowie die schnellen und zuverlässigen Onlineshops ermöglichen ein einzigartiges und komfortables Einkaufserlebnis – ganz unabhängig von Zeit und Ort. Im Zentrum steht dabei die konsequente Kundenorientierung: Kurze Lieferfristen, persönliche und kompetente Beratung per Telefon, Mail, Fax oder in einer der neun Filialen sowie transparente und verständliche Kommunikation.

Die Firmenkultur

  • Wir sind ein starkes Team. Respektvoller, kollegialer und wertschätzender Umgang ist für uns selbstverständlich.
  • Toleranz wird bei uns gross geschrieben. Unsere unterschiedlichen Charakteren und Denkweisen zeichnen uns aus.
  • Gemeinsam erreichen wir grosse Ziele. Täglich motivieren wir uns gegenseitig und hinterfragen konsequent den Status Quo, denn wir bleiben nicht stehen.
  • Wir sind anders. Unkonventionelle, freche und innovative Ideen sind genau unser Ding.
  • Wir übernehmen Verantwortung. Eigenverantwortliches Handeln und schlanke Strukturen sind für uns die Basis, um dynamisch und agil zu bleiben.
  • Unsere Werte sind uns wichtig

Galaxus und die Schildkröte

Der Name Galaxus steht für das gesamte Sortiment und das neue Einkaufserlebnis. Für die gesamte «Warenhaus-Galaxie», die nur einen einzigen Mausklick entfernt ist. Auch die Schildkröte als Logo kommt nicht von ungefähr. Mythologien vieler alter Völker sagen ihr nach, die ganze Welt – ja gar das Universum – zu repräsentieren, auf sich zu tragen und somit immer bei sich zu haben. Ausserdem ist sie äusserst robust, zuverlässig und schlau. Genau diese Eigenschaften hat sich auch Galaxus zum Ziel genommen: Ein Universum an Produkten kompakt und kompetent an einem Ort zu vereinen. Und dem Kunden ein für ihn zugeschnittenes und seine Bedürfnisse abdeckendes, effizientes Einkaufserlebnis zu ermöglichen.

Firmengeschichte

Wir schreiben das Jahr 2000. Drei Freunde verbindet eine Passion: das Gamen. Sie sehen nicht ein, weshalb sie für ihre Gaming-PCs ein Vermögen hinblättern sollen. Im Ausland kosten die Einzelteile einen Bruchteil. Kurzerhand bauen sie ihre Rechner selbst zusammen. Das fällt auf. Fürs Erste bei Bekannten und Verwandten. Ein Auftrag jagt den nächsten, die Produktion kommt in Gang. Warum nicht ein Geschäft daraus machen? Gesagt, getan. Im April 2001 programmieren sie ihren eigenen Onlineshop www.digitec.ch und gründen die Kollektivgesellschaft Nägeli Trading & Co. Verkauft werden allerdings nicht nur PCs, sondern die ganze Palette aus der IT und etwas später auch Unterhaltungselektronik.

Die drei Freunde - Florian Teuteberg, Oliver Herren und Marcel Dobler - sind zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch unter 25 Jahre alt. Die Freude an Innovation und effizienten Prozessen und Arbeitsabläufen treibt sie voran. Ihr Onlineshop soll ein breites Angebot zu tiefen Preisen bieten und die Kundschaft professionell bedienen. Das Wachstum ist rasant. Umzüge, Rennovationen und Vergrösserungen ziehen sich durch die gesamte Unternehmensgeschichte. Das zu Beginn unterschätzte Unternehmen mausert sich schnell zum Online-Elektronik-Marktführer.

Kaum im Elektronik-Markt richtig etabliert, kommen die drei Freunde mit einer Erweiterung der Geschäftsidee: 2012 lancieren sie das Schweizweit grösste Online-Warenhaus Galaxus. Das Angebot reicht von Haushalt über Spielwaren bis hin zu Sportartikeln.
2014 wird der dritte, von Grund auf inhouse programmierte Onlineshop für beide Plattformen, digitec und Galaxus, aufgeschaltet.

Heute befinden sich die Büroräumlichkeiten im Zürcher Kreis 5. Das Logistikzentrum in Wohlen erstreckt sich über eine Fläche von 46`500 Quadratmetern, zehn digitec Filialen verteilen sich in der Deutsch- und Westschweiz. Um beiden Onlineshops im Firmennamen Platz zu bieten, heisst das Unternehmen seit September 2015 Digitec Galaxus AG. Aktuell arbeiten hier über 1000 Mitarbeitende.

Auszeichnungen

Für die unternehmerische Leistung wurde Digitec Galaxus mehrfach ausgezeichnet:

  • GfM Marketingpreis 2017
    • Jahrespreis der Stiftung für Marketing in der Unternehmensführung 
  • Swiss E-Commerce Award 2017
    • Galaxus: Swiss E-Commerce Champion 2017
    • Galaxus: Gewinner Kategorie B2C - Home & Living
    • Galaxus: Gewinner Kategorie Curation, Social- und Content-Commerce
  • Best of Swiss Web Award 2015
    • digitec: Ehrenpreis Swiss Web Award
  • Prix Swiss Venture Club 2011
    • SVC Unternehmerpreis im Wirtschaftsraum Zürich
  • Swiss Economic Award 2008
    • Swiss Economic Award